Painting + Drawing
New to the Harris Fine Arts Library
The 500 Years of Resistance Comic Book by Call Number: E59.G6 H54 2010xISBN: 9781551523606Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Legacy of the Masters by Call Number: N6260 .K87 2019xISBN: 9781911300731Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Unrealism New Figurative Painting by Call Number: ND196.4.F54 U57 2019xISBN: 0847862429Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Landscape Painting Now by Call Number: ND1349 .S34 2019ISBN: 9781942884262Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Consuming Painting by Call Number: ND547.5.I4 D48 2021ISBN: 9780271087238Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Transmedial Landscapes and Modern Chinese Painting by Call Number: ND1366.76 .N68 2022ISBN: 9780674267947Publication Date: 2023-01-03
The Women Who Changed Art Forever by Call Number: N8354 .G72813 2021xISBN: 9781913947002Publication Date: 2021-08-31
Call number ranges for browsing
Browsing can be a great way to encounter books you'd otherwise miss, or to open yourself up to new discoveries and inspiration. Use the following call numbers ranges to browse in the library stacks. Similar books are very often collocated on the shelves, but it's a good to keep an open mind as you browse as some books may be classified differently than you'd think.
Refer to the General Information: Books page for help reading call numbers.
NC1-1940 Drawing. Design. Illustration
NC1-45 General Including collective biography
NC50-266 History of drawing
NC390-670 Study and teaching
NC703-725 General works
NC730-758 Technique
NC760-825 Special subjects
NC845-915 Graphic art materials
NC930 Conservation and restoration of drawings
NC950-(996) Illustration
NC997-1003 Commercial art. Advertising art
NC1280-1284 Printed ephemera. Imagerie populaire
NC1300-1766 Pictorial humor, caricature, etc.
NC1800-1850 Posters
ND25-3416 Painting
ND25-(48) General
ND49-813 History
ND1115-1120 Study and teaching
ND1130-1156 General works
ND1288-1460 Special subjects
ND1290-1293 Human figure
ND1300-1337 Portraits
ND1340-1367 Landscape painting
ND1370-1375 Marine painting
ND1380-1383 Animals. Birds
ND1385-1388 Sports. Hunting, fishing, etc.
ND1390-1393 Still life ND1400-1403 Flowers. Fruit. Trees
ND1410-1460 Other subjects
ND1470-1625 Technique and materials
ND1630-1662 Examination and conservation of paintings
ND1700-2495 Watercolor painting
ND2550-2733 Mural painting
ND2889-3416 Illuminating of manuscripts and books
Current painting and drawing periodicals (a selection)
- College Art AssociationCAA, as the preeminent international leadership organization in the visual arts, promotes these arts and their understanding through advocacy, intellectual engagement, and a commitment to the diversity of practices and practitioners.
- Google Arts and CultureAn online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative's partner museums. Also includes Google Art Experiments, projects at the crossroads of art and technology, created by artists and creative coders with Google Arts & Culture.
- The Drawing CenterThe Drawing Center, a museum in Manhattan's SoHo district, explores the medium of drawing as primary, dynamic, and relevant to contemporary culture, the future of art, and creative thought.
- Heilbrunn Timeline: PaintingPaintings featured in the Metropolitan Museum's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
- Heilbrunn Timeline: DrawingDrawings and illustrations feature in the Metropolitan Museum's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History.
- Society of IllustratorsThe Society of Illustrators’ mission is to promote the art of illustration, to appreciate its history and evolving nature through exhibitions, lectures and education, and to contribute the service of its members to the welfare of the community at large.
- Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum CollectionsBrowse the collections of the Billy Ireland, which houses the world's largest collection of materials related to cartoons and comics, including original art, books, magazines, journals, comic books, graphic novels, archival materials, and newspaper comic strip pages and clippings. Links include their digitized original art and other collection items.
- Library of Congress Webcomics Web ArchiveThis collection focuses on comics created specifically for the web and supplements the Library of Congress’ extensive holdings in both comic books, graphic novels, and original comic art. Webcomics are an increasingly popular format utilized by contemporary creators in the field and often includes material by artists not available elsewhere.
- Women Who DrawWomen Who Draw is an open directory of female* professional illustrators, artists and cartoonists. It was created by two women artists in an effort to increase the visibility of female illustrators, emphasizing female illustrators of color, LBTQ+, and other minority groups of female illustrators. (*Women Who Draw is trans-inclusive and includes women, trans and gender non-conforming illustrators.)
- Color systemDo you know Isaac Newton’s Theory of Colour? Or maybe Goethe’s? We present you with a total of 59 easy-to-understand, richly illustrated colour theories from the Antiquity to modern times: in short, a complete cultural history of colour written by Prof. Narciso Silvestrini and Prof. Ernst Peter Fischer.