University Libraries

An article database indexing nearly 11,000 journals and magazines covering a broad range of fields. (Business topics are better searched in its companion database, Business Source Complete.) Includes full text for over 5,000 of the journals and magazines and images from many of the articles.

This database provides abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and much more. Periodical coverage dates back to 1980.

Searchable, full text source for scholarly journals and ebooks in many fields. JSTOR does not include current content. Typically, the most recent three to five years of a journal are not available.

This database offers full text coverage for hundreds of journals, magazines and books. The intended user groups include art, art history, architecture, interior and landscape design, and related areas. It includes over 60 thousand images, so if you study or teach with images in any of these areas, it's worth a look. As always, you may encounter embargoes on some newer content.

Covers about 300 art publications from around the world, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as many European periodicals. Detailed coverage: advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture, city planning, computers in art, crafts, film, folk art, glassware, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, jewelry, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video, and woodwork.

Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.

Comprehensive guide to the current literature of architecture and design for research in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history. Published by the Getty Research Institute.

The bibliography provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields. Scholarship from at least 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.

Large collection of hundreds of online encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical compilations, and other reference tools.

The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture offers unparalleled coverage of all aspects of art and architecture from Medieval Western Europe, from the 6th century to the early 16th century. The Encyclopedia offers scholarly material on Medieval art in intelligent, well-written, and informative articles, each of which is followed by a bibliography to support further research.

The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.

Formerly the Grove Dictionary of Art, this is the innovative new gateway into art research and the access point for Oxford art reference subscriptions and publications. Includes Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.