Library Guides: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Resource Guide: Articles and Databases

Start with Articles and More

Articles and More searches most of our 300+ databases at the same time. It's a broad, blunt search, but it gets the job done. You discover:

how much is out there – whether your topic is too broad or too narrow
more words and synonyms to include in your search
hints and leads for more places to look

Articles and More searches articles, books, newspapers, media and streaming content available through our subscription databases, Ohio University and OhioLINK library catalogs, and beyond. It includes many items we do not own, though we may be able to get you a copy via InterLibrary Loan.

LGBT focused databases

Genderwatch
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporated the publication Women "R."
LGBTQ+ Source
"Contains full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books."
Gender Studies Database
A combination of Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases (1972 to the present) with the coverage of sexual diversity issues covering " the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia".
Alternative Press Index
API has since the late 1960s been developing its own indexing terms emphasizing progressive social justice priorities and underrepresented populations.

Search Cheat: Find a Biography in OHIO Library Catalog or Articles and More

To find a biography, go to the University Libraries website and select Advanced Search.

Choose Search for: Articles and More

Material Type: Book

On the first line copy and paste this search string:

biograph* OR autobiograph* OR diary OR memoir OR narrative

on the second line, describe your desired topic - think broadly!

AND Latina OR mexic*

Then, if necessary, on the third line:

AND women Or female

Here's the results list that search creates: 669 books