University Libraries

A database of art images, including photographs, drawings, old masters, magazine covers, posters, costume examples, jewlery, etc., etc

1911 - 1955 original advertisements

A real delight! "Begun in 1890s Paris, ....by the time Pathé finally stopped producing the cinema newsreel in 1970 they had accumulated 3500 hours of filmed history amounting to over 90,000 individual items." Free website, See link to fashion footage.

A mash-up of images and items from thousands of institutions. A treasure box, which might yield anything. "Far more than a search engine, the portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, format, subject, and partner."

Online copy of magazine. Good for historical images of costume & design.

1860's - 1970's images from Life Magazine. Try the search "storefront windows" to see how RFPD students could use this. Free website.

Pictures scanned from old books and photo collections: good for historical images. Free website.

This is set up for sales, but you can also tweet, FB, etc.

images in the public domain = useable.

Digitized images from the Blanche Payne collection of fashion plates from women's magazines. 1806-1915

Hi-res images from museums all around the world.

1M images, all public domain. Flickr photostream. Link to costumes subset.

A compilation of images from several European museums. "composed of 22 partners from 12 European countries, which represent the leading European institutions and collections in the fashion domain. The consortium will aggregate and provide Europeana with outstanding and rich material about the history of European fashion"

These images are all open access and public domain.

Really nice silhouette series as index to historical costume.

Presidents and first ladies and everything else.

Images of items in their collection.

Dutch masters (Verneer and Rembrandt), plus sculpture, costume. Lets you do remixes of its art, too.

Hi-res images of public-domain works in their collection.

The storied collections of the Victoria and Albert Museum of London.