University Libraries

While we hope that you will visit the Mahn Center and explore our Digital Archives, we understand that we might not have what you're looking for or need. Fortunately, there are countless other collections out there. Below we list a small selection of large, mostly digital, collections, accessible anywhere and anytime you have access to the internet.

Keep in mind that, increasingly, cultural heritage institutions of all kinds are making digital collections publicly available. In turn, many states, nations, and sometimes continents are creating sites that centralize access to these digitized materials.

Explore!

The list below is neither comprehensive nor exhaustive, but a starting place to give you an idea of just how much is available.

Ohio Newspapers Includes select titles only and you may need an active Ohio University login to gain access

ArchiveGrid searches and connects you to over 1,000 archival repositories, a great place if you don't know where else to start

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) contains digitized materials archived at institutions across the United States

HathiTrust contains materials, including full text books, digitized from the collections of institutions around the world

• Log In with your OHIO ID and password for greater access!

Black Archives "is a gathering place for Black memory and imaginations"

The Indigenous Digital Archive is an online archive of materials related to US government-created Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries

American Indian Records in the National Archives centralizes documents related to American Indians held at the National Archives

South Asian American Digital Archive "digitally documents, preserves, and shares stories of South Asian Americans"

Digital Transgender Archive contains digitized material that you can search by map, institution, genre, topic, or just see what's new

Lavender Legacies: Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable Guide to Sources in North America is a state-by-state guide to lesbian and gay sources

Women in the National Archives centralizes documents related to women held at the National Archives

African Online Digital Library (AODL) provides open access to African cultural heritage materials

Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers a digital library of cultural material from across the Middle East

Europeana contains digitized materials from institutions throughout Europe

SouthEast Asia Digital Library (SEAD) contains digitized materials from Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.