Library Guides: Activism: Databases and Finding Articles

Find Articles in Databases

Academic Search Complete
Offers interdisciplinary articles from and magazines as well as scholarly items. Great place to start.
Articles Plus
Search here for articles in hundreds of library databases at once. The more cross-disciplinary your topic, the more Articles Plus is the place to be searching.
- MOST OF THESE RESOURCES ARE NOT FREE ON GOOGLE

Alternative Press Index
This database indexes many small town newspapers. Useful for understanding how small news organizations reported on activists and activism from the 1960's forward.
Left Index
Indexes leftist news organizations for a different take on what happened.
Political Science Complete
A huge database of peer-reviewed scholarship on all aspects of political science, written by experts in the field.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Covers articles about how sociologists and anthropologists have studied activism and activists. Most items are scholarly/ peer-reviewed.

Environmental Complete
Peer-reviewed articles written by environmental scientists, including studies of environmental activism.
GreenFILE
Includes articles about the human impact on the environment.
Scholarly, government, and general-interest pubs cover global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.

Gender Studies Database
If you are researching gender-related activism, this database would be excellent. Scholarly / peer reviewed.
GenderWatch
Includes gender, sexuality, and LGBT topics related to activism from peer-reviewed journals & newspaper and magazines.
LGBT Life
LGBT Life contains articles from major journals, magazines and regional newspapers on gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender topics related to activism.
Women's Studies International
Scholarship related to activism and gender.Coverage of the core disciplines in Women’s Studies & the latest in feminist research.

Business Source Complete
Activism's impact on decision-making in the business world is an important aspect of the topic. Popular and peer-reviewed articles here.
EconLit
EconLit is a comprehensive database many different aspects of economics. Look here to see how economists study activism and activist movements.

Sociological Collection
Scholarly journals in sociology: social behavior, human tendencies, interactions, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
SocINDEX
Useful for socio-cultural anthropology. Provides full text of journal articles, as well as indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources.
Sociological Abstracts
From Proquest, which means it is NOT indexed in Articles Plus.Formerly social services abstracts.