Skip to main content

Ohio University

Spanish Language and Literature

Introduction

La Sagrada Famailia in BarcelonaThis Guide is designed to point researchers to basic tools for doing research in Spanish language and literature taught in OU's Modern Languages Department. There is information on both print and online sources.

Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of Ohio University. If you are using the Guide off-campus, you will need to do a brief login to identify yourself as a member of Ohio University before you can use these resources.

For additional resources—not strictly literary—see the Latin American Studies research guide.

Start with ArticlesPlus below and the Oxford Bibliography for Latin American Studies (if it's appropriate to your topic), then go on to other pages in this Guide for additional sources.

ALICE Catalog, OhioLINK Catalog, and WorldCat

1. Start here: ALICE Library Catalog...

 
  • Includes: books, videos, magazine, journal, and newspaper titles, and more in ALL Ohio University campus libraries, plus the Library Annex.
  • Does not include: individual articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.
  • Look for Location, Call Number, and Status. AVAILABLE means it should be here.
  • Use Request button in ALICE as needed.
  • OhioLINK is a consortium made up of more than 80 university libraries in Ohio, as well as the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK provides students and faculty at Ohio University with access to more than 48 million library materials.

  • Worldcat is an international database containing bibliographic records for tens of millions of books, periodicals, audio-visual materials, archival sources, and so forth. Worldcat is not a library. It is a central depository of bibliographic records. To obtain materials discovered on Worldcat, one must submit a request though Interlibrary Loan

2. Can't find it in ALICE? Try OhioLINK...



 
  • Access to tens of millions of items from around the state.
  • Quick, easy, and free borrowing; see table of borrowing information.
  • If you're using ALICE, click on the  button to go there.
  • Use  to get items from OhioLINK. Delivery usually within 3-4 days.

3. Can't get it from OhioLINK? Try WorldCat...

  • Covers thousands of libraries from around the world.
  • Cannot borrow directly in WorldCat. Use information there to complete an Interlibrary Loan request.
Loading ...

Oxford Bibliography on Latin American Studies

Map of Latin America on a globeThe Oxford Bibliogaphy online for Latin American Studies, is a wonderful source for starting to explore a research topic--or even to get ideas for a topic in the first place.

  • Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
  • In-depth coverage of  more than a hundred topics.
  • Each entry has a “Find this resource” link which makes it easy to locate the book or journal article in our collection.
  • If you sign up for a free "My OBO" account, you can create custom lists of resources that match your interests.