Skip to Main Content
quick links menu toggle button
Library Guides Home
Click to open live chat.
Chat With Us
Ohio University Libraries
A research guide for students in Sociology.
Search this Guide
Journal Decision Chart
Google / Scholar
Data & Statistics
Vids: Word Bank & Trust Me
What is it?
The Research Process: How-to
This link opens in a new window
Get Help / Contact Me
Social Sciences Databases Tutorial
ArticlesPlus: Start Here For Most Topics
searches more than 200 databases all at the same time, from the search box on the library homepage.
SocINDEX provides full text of journal articles and indexing for journals, monographs, conference papers, and other sources in sociology.
EBSCO: rated best. broader scope.
Indexes scholarly journals on sociology topics:
From Proquest, which means it is NOT indexed in Articles Plus.
Formerly social services abstracts.
Heavy on science, but important for its citation-tracking ability. Includes unique articles not found in Articles Plus.
Databases for Related Fields
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Information on national and international criminal justice issues, including juvenile justice and crime prevention.
Gender Watch covers Gender studies, Women’s Studies, LGBT, Queer studies, and related interests.
Many sociological questions have a psychological aspect.
Green Criminology and other sociological topics will find useful articles here.
Journal Decision Chart >>
Sociology and Anthropology