Dictionaries, Grammar Aids, and Other Resources
Beolingus is a good onlne German-Englsh dictionary.
The call number range for printed German dictionaries and other language books begins at PF3001. There are many non-circulating dictionaries in the Reference Collection. For volumes which you can check out, try the same call number area on the 7th floor.
The twelve-volume Duden series of word books is worthy of note:
- Rechtschreibung der deutschen Sprache - German Spelling
- Stilwörterbuch der deutschen Sprache - Style Dictionary
- Bildwörterbuch der deutschen Sprache - Picture Dictionary
- Grammatik der deutschen Gegenwartssprache - Grammar
- Fremdwörterbuch - Dictionary of Foreign Words
- Aussprachewörterbuch - Pronunciation Dictionary
- Etymologie : Herkunftswörterbuch der deutschen Sprache - Origin Dictionary
- Sinn- und sachverwandte Wörter : Synonymwörterbuch der deutsche Sprache - Thesaurus
- Richtiges und gutes Deutsch - Correct and Good German
- Bedeutungswörterbuch - Meaning Dictionary
- Redewendungen und sprichwörtliche Redensarten - Idioms
- Zitate und Aussprüche - Quotations and Sayings
We have many additional dictionaries. Here are links to listings in the Library Search Catalog:
Grammar and Usage
We have a many books on German grammar and usage, mostly in the PF3111 call number range. Here are a couple of sample titles:
- A Practical Dictionary of German Usage. New York:Oxford University Press, 1996.
- Exploring the German Language. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008
Here's a link to search results in the Library Search Catalog for many additional books on German grammar, mostly in the PC 3100+ call number area on the 7th floor.