Finding Articles about German Language and Literature
ArticlesPlus, on the Start Here page of this Guide, is an excellent place to look for critical studies on German language or literature. Among other sources it includes the contents of the MLA International Bibliography, which is the major database for research in Modern Languages. If you wish, here is a link to access the MLA International Bibliography only.
Listed below are three different, though similarly-named, sources for literary criticism. There is a lot of duplication of contents between them, but each one does have sources that the other two do not, so they're all worth looking at.
- Literary Reference CenterCompilation of articles, essays, book extracts, etc. on world literature. Types of information sources include:biographies, literary criticism, plot summaries, reference books, full text classics, periodical articles, poems, and images.
Literature Criticism OnlineOnline full-text critical essays on literature of various places and times. This database is derived from a huge set of printed reference books: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Drama Criticism.- Literature Resource CenterSimilar in nature (and in name!) to the preceding, this database also provides information on world literature from selected resources. Both are worth looking at.
Gale Literary Index Author Search
Gale Literary Index allows you to locate information on authors from all times and places that are included in more than 100 publications, both print and online, from Gale and other publishers. Search results include the contents of Dictionary of Literary Biography.
It does not provide the full text directly, only pointers to where the full text is located. You will need to use the ALICE Catalog to look for the specific titles that you find listed in the Gale Literary Index.