Major American Newspapers (conglomerate of many newspapers)
Search for Articles on a Subject
Newspaper indexes, like those listed below, let you search for newspaper articles on a particular topic. You can also use them to search for newspaper articles in many different newspapers at a time.
- America’s Newspapers: coverage varies by title, but articles can be found dating from 1978 to present.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic): date coverage varies by source, but some coverage dates to the 1970s.
- offers sophisticated search tools that make it a resource for content analysis of news coverage.
- Access Newspaper Archive: includes historical access to local newspapers from across the United States
- African American Newspapers: coverage dates range from 1823-1998, and content includes African American focused newspapers from across the United States.
- America’s Historical Newspapers: local and major newspapers. Coverage varies by title, but dates include 1690-2000.
-
US Newsstream - Recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format
- Ethnic NewswatchEthnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
ETHNIC NEWS WATCH, Pittsburgh Courier newspaper, 1962. Note: Pittsburgh Courier is an African american owned and operated newspaper, along with Chicago Defender.