Portal to streaming video content for educational, documentary, independent and art house films from hundreds of content providers; Kino, Bullfrog, Criterion, PBS, DER, plus more. Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos; many videos come with transcripts.
To facilitate teaching films can be projected in lecture halls, embedded in authenticated web pages, and watched off-campus (with login) with unlimited simultaneous viewers. Users can also create Playlists and make clips.
The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies,Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.
Digital Campus, provided by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® was created for professors and administrators to enhance curriculum by providing students with access to course-related films. This website provides an online catalog of the both feature films and films on literature, history, science, psychology/sociology, film study, fine arts, foreign language, humanities/culture, and communications
The Docuseek2 Collection contains streaming video of documentaries by producers, distributors, and independent filmmakers from around the world. The documentaries focus on contemporary social issues in a variety of disciplines, including environmental sciences, political and social sciences, history, health, psychology, and more. The collection includes films from distributors such as Bullfrog Films, dGenerate Films, Collective Eye, Icarus Films, Kartemquin, First Run Features and the National Film Board of Canada.
Video content selected to compliment broadest range of subject areas: art, business, counseling and therapy, education, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, literature, political science, religion, women’s studies. Titles include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.
HIGHLIGHTS OF THE COLLECTION
We prefer to buy films in 'perpetuity' for faculty and student teaching and research. This way, for as long as the 'media' is still playable, we have access to these films for life. We acquire DSLs (Digital Site Licenses), which distributors offer as a way to obtain and access streaming content.
Click on My Institutions Content to see the films we are hosting in perpetuity. Of course there are more than these, but we are putting them in one place now! All DVDs as long as there is a DVD player, are 'in perpetuity'.
Films on Demand is a comprehensive collection of high-quality streaming videos licensed from a long established educational media distributor (Films for the Humanities and Sciences). Other content providers for Films on Demand include Davidson Films, California Newsreel, PBS, HBO and many more. Over 33,000 videos cover a wide range of topics organized into broad subjects. Individual segments subdivide each video into discrete shorter units.
HIGHLIGHTS OF THE COLLECTION
HBO (160+ titles)
Online resource for plays, critical analysis and performance. The full text of many plays, featuring drama lists from Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare, Faber and Faber, Nick Hern, Playwrights Canada Press; audio broadcasts from LA Theatreworks; streaming performances from Royal Shakespeare Company and Globe on Screen. Drama Online offers a complete digital library of the most studied, performed and critically acclaimed plays from the last two and a half thousand years.
Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015)
Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2016-2018)
BBC Drama Films & Documentaries
National Theatre Live 1 and 2
OntheBoards.tv offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization. This first-of-its-kind site brings contemporary work to a wider public by filming top caliber performances with multiple high-definition cameras, editing the film collaboratively with the artists, and delivering them online as feature-length performance films.