Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
American Ballet Theatre's Online Ballet DictionaryAn interactive resource designed to bring dance to the Web and make it accessible to everyone It includes 170 terms (not a comprehensive list of ballet terms and forms) which are demonstrated in brief video clips by ABT Company dancers.
International Dictionary of Ballet by Call Number: GV1585 .I57 1993Publication Date: 1993Has more than 750 In-depth entries featuring individual artists include dancers, choreographers, designers, composers, librettists and teachers.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Call Number: GV1585 .I58 1998Publication Date: 1998Has more than 400 signed entries on all aspects of modern dance. The majority treat individuals who have influenced the art since the 19th century and include biographical details, dates, education, awards, roles (if they were performers), and specific works.
International Encyclopedia of Dance ONLINE by Call Number: GV1585 .I586 1998Publication Date: 1998A 6-volume set in the Music and Dance Library's Reference section which offers coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.
Modern Dance Terminology by Call Number: GV1585 .L65 1997xPublication Date: 1997Defines modern dance concepts, terms, principles, and movements in the words of the founders of modern dance.
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Call Number: GV1585 .C78 2000Publication Date: 2000Entries provide information on the history and terminology of classical, modern, traditional, and social dance forms from throughout the world, including choreographers and composers, dance companies, and notable works.
