Start Your Research with Background Information
Why start with background research?
A good background source will:
- Give you an overview of the topic and its sub-topics
- Outline important terms, events, people, places.
- Uncover good words to use to search elsewhere.
- Offer further readings.
Online reference books for background research:
Check these online books for background information on your communication or media-related topic.
- THE SAGE INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MASS MEDIA AND SOCIETYCall Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2020
- 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook byPublication Date: 2009This handbook contains 100 chapters that focus on both communication studies and media/journalism topics.
- Encyclopedia of Communcation byPublication Date: 2003The Encyclopedia of Communication and information provides an overview of communication theories and many topics in communication studies and media.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781412959193Publication Date: 2010-09-01This is an excellent source to look at when you are exploring a new theory. Get background on the theory, its development and find suggestions for further reading to take you forward.- Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture byPublication Date: 2009This encyclopedia gives overviews on topics specific to political communication topics. If you're looking at any topic related to political communication or politics in the media, this is the source for you.
- The International Encyclopedia of Communication byPublication Date: 2008If you are research a topic in communication that is new to you, I highly recommend the International Encyclopedia of Communication. You can find descriptions of many communication-related topics as well as suggested further readings.
Reference databases for background information
The following tools provide access to reference resources related to communication. These can also be useful for finding background information on your topic.
- Opposing ViewpointsOpposing Viewpoints covers a wide range of both perennial and newer issues that are controversial. Topic pages provide an overview of the topic, viewpoints on different sides of the issue, and links to newspaper, magazine and journal articles as well as statistics, video and audio reports.
- CQ Researcherexplores hot topics in the news. Every 12,000 word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of a given issue.
- Oxford Bibliographies - CommunicationOxford Bibliographies gives you an overview of many communication-related topics as well as a bibliography of suggested sources for further research.
- Oxford Bibliographies - Cinema & Media StudiesOxford Bibliographies give you an overview of topics in cinema and media studies. Each entry also includes an annotated bibliography of sources to include in your research.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGVRL is a collection of online books that you can search all at once. There books here are on a wide range of topics, not just communication topics. This is useful for getting background information on historical events or topics that may have a non-communication dimension, such as health issues or political issues.