Skip to main content

Ohio University Libraries

Cartography, Remote Sensing and GIS

Library and online resources for cartography, remote sensing and GIS.

ALICE Catalog

ALICE is the name of Ohio University's Online Library Catalog, a database for locating the books, periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers), videos and other materials in our collections.  ALICE includes the collections of both the Athens main campus and the regional campuses.

 

 

A note about articles: ALICE does NOT include listings for individual articles in magazines, journals or newspaper--only the entire publications. If you have a citation for a journal article and wish to find the article itself, start by doing a Periodical Title search in ALICE for the name of the entire periodical, not the author or title of the article.

OhioLINK Catalog

If we don't have the item you need (or if we do have it but it's not available for some reason), be sure to see if OhioLINK can provide it for you. OhioLINK is a statewide network of around 90 library systems. In most cases, you can quickly and easily borrow books from OhioLINK for free.

If you're using ALICE, you can always click on the Search OhioLINK button button to go there. To do a search right now, you can use the box below:


Search by for:

 

Interlibrary Loan and Document Express

 Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery services borrow items from other libraries for you to use.

Here's a step-by-step breakdown:

Books

  1. Search ALICE. If Ohio University owns the book, note the call number and location and go get it!
    • If the Location part of the record in ALICE says Library Annex or some other OU campus, click on the purple Request button and complete the form. You will get an  email when the book is ready..
  2. If we don't own the book, click on the Search OhioLINK button.
    • On the OhioLink record, click Request It.and complete the form. You will get an email when the book is ready.
  3. If no OhioLINK libraries have the book, login to our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery system (ILLiad) and request the book there.
    • You will be notified by email when the book arrives, which may take several weeks.

Articles

1. Paste the article title into Articles Plus to see if we own the article. Click Get full text in HTML or Get full text in PDF to see the whole article.

Here's an example:  Ekphrasis and the writing process. Krauth, Nigel, Bowman, Christopher. New Writing: The International Journal for the Practice & Theory of Creative Writing, Feb2018, Vol. 15 Issue 1, p11-30, 20p. 

       Get Full Text in PDF (1.3MB)

2. Get full Text by itself usually means the article is available, but you have to click to another database to see it. In 2 or 3 more clicks, you should have the whole article. Ask for help if you can't find it! 

3. If we don't own the journal or article at all, login to Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery system (ILLiad) and request the article there.

    • We will ask another library to scan the article for you.
    • You will get an email telling you to login again to your ILLiad account and download the PDF from there.
    • Please note: you cannot request journal articles via OhioLINK!

For other types of research materials, Ask a Librarian for help!