Library Guides: Research in Education: Finding Articles

Doing a quick search in ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus

Articles Plus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time, including:

All EBSCO databases that we have
All JSTOR journals that we have
Several newspaper databases
ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
...and much more

Articles Plus does not include everything. We subscribe to many other databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in Articles Plus. To find and use these, go to the database list -- or let us help you.

Common Databases to Identify Useful Articles in All Areas of Education

ERIC
Indexes approximately 900 journals and the ERIC document collection; covers the field of education and related fields. ERIC document include papers presented at counseling conferences. Years of coverage are 1966 to the present.
Education Research Complete
Article database covering the field of education, including curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and school counseling. Coverage goes back to 1867 for some titles. Can be cross searched with other EBSCO databases such as Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection and Teacher Reference Center.
Education Index Retrospective
Indexes education journals from 1929-1983.

Databases Especially Useful to Instructional Technology

LearnTechLib The Learning and Technology Library
Formerly known as ED/ITLib, this database contains full-text peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and proceedings papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.

Databases Especially Useful to Coaching and Recreation & Sport Pedagogy

SportDISCUS
Indexes articles, books, and theses on sports and recreation with subjects that include: sports medicine, exercise, physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, sports history, and facilites and equipment.
PsycINFO
Index to articles in over 2000 scholarly journals in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Also indexes thousands of books, dissertations, and other scholarly publications. Comprehensive and international in scope. Indexes materials in 27 languages from 49 countries, although the majority of the content is in English.

Databases Especially Useful to Education Research and Evaluation

MathSciNet
Comprehensive coverage of research in mathematics and mathematically-related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines. Indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings and papers, and published dissertations. Includes reviews since 1980.

Databases Especially Useful to Counseling, Early Childhood, Education Administration, Teacher and Special Education

PsycINFO
Index to articles in over 2000 scholarly journals in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Also indexes thousands of books, dissertations, and other scholarly publications. Comprehensive and international in scope. Indexes materials in 27 languages from 49 countries, although the majority of the content is in English.

Databases Especially Useful to Higher Education

Higher Education Abstracts
A print index covering 200 journals including some which are not indexed elsewhere.
PsycINFO
Index to articles in over 2000 scholarly journals in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Also indexes thousands of books, dissertations, and other scholarly publications. Comprehensive and international in scope. Indexes materials in 27 languages from 49 countries, although the majority of the content is in English.

University Libraries

Research in Education