Subject Librarian for African Studies and the Social Sciences
Meet Online
Introduction
A guide intended for students and researchers interested in Latin America. Information on resources found at Ohio University Libraries and other outside sources and are included.
Ohio students have access to resources from over 30 universities and other institutions through the OhioLINK Consortium. Students may borrow print books and access over 100,000 electronic books and 20 million journal articles. Please visit https://ohiolink.edu/student for further information.
For additional assistance on topics related to Latin America please contact Araba Dawson-Andoh using the contact information on the left side of this page.
ALICE Catalog, OhioLINK Catalog, and WorldCat
1. Start here: ALICE Library Catalog...
- Includes: books, videos, magazine, journal, and newspaper titles, from ALL Ohio University campus libraries.
- Does not include: individual articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.
- Look for Location, Call Number, and Status. AVAILABLE means it should be on the shelf, or readable online.
2. Can't find it in ALICE? Try OhioLINK...
- Access to 50M+ items from around the state.
- Quick, easy, and free borrowing; see table of borrowing information.
- Use
to get items from OhioLINK. Delivery usually within 3-4 days.*
*Please allow several additional days during COVID-limited operations.
3. Can't even get it from OhioLINK? Try WorldCat...
- Combined catalogs of thousands of libraries from around the world.
- You cannot borrow directly in WorldCat; request books and media via Interlibrary Loan.
Oxford Bibliographies: Latin American Studies
The Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies provides an online annotated bibliography that provides access to a wide variety of scholarship related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Articles include an introduction by a leading scholar in the field and serve as a fine guide to the current scholarship. Coverage is wide-ranging and includes history, literature, art, film, war and revolution, politics, slavery, sociology, gender, indigenous cultures and health.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
- World Scholar: Latin America & the CaribbeanProvides online access to many primary sources along with selected secondary sources on the region. Included are monographs, manuscripts, maps, diaries, reports, journal and newspaper articles dating from the colonial period to the present day.
Confidential Print Latin America, 1833-1969
- Confidential Print Latin America, 1833-1969This series published by the Foreign and Colonial Offices of the British Government since 1820’s includes telegrams, letters, treaties and other documents that were marked “Confidential Print” and were circulated to officials in the Foreign Office, Cabinet and heads of British missions abroad. Selected annual reports, diplomatic dispatches, profiles of important military and political personalities, meeting minutes, economic analyses and political summaries are also available. This series covers the whole of South and Central America, along with the non-British islands of the Caribbean from the 1820’s until the 1960’s.