Academic Search Complete is a good place to start for almost any search. However, we have a lot more databases that are specific for Latin American Studies, and you'll want to familiarize yourself with all of them.
This is the first place to look for scholarly articles for Latin American Studies classes. It has records for articles published from 1970 to present in 500 different social science and humanities journals. Full text articles from some of these journals are available. PRISMA includes an interface in and articles written in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. All subject headings are in English, but you can do keyword searches in any language to find articles in that language.
Currently indexes over 380 journals and contains over 300,000 records covering Latin America, the Caribbean and Latinos in the the US. Includes articles in English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian and German. Full text links are often included.
This is the Spanish language equivalent of Academic Search Complete. It has full-text articles on all subjects from 450 different publications from Latin America. This is a good place to look for articles in disciplines outside of the normal realm of Latin American Studies: biology, human resources, cosmetology, nursing, carpentry, and so on. Most publications included are from 2000 or newer. Almost all material is in Spanish or Portuguese; subject headings are in English.
This database is harder to use, but it goes back much further than PRISMA (all the way to 1936!) and it includes articles from 2000 different social science and humanities journals. It also contains records for about 6000 books. It includes materials written in English, Spanish, and Portuguese, but all subject headings are in English.
Access to English-language articles covering the peoples and nations of the Caribbean. Sources include many Caribbean focused scholarly journals, newspapers, reports and reference works. Includes full-text for many of the publications. Included topics are wide-ranging and include business, culture, environment, health, social issues and politics.
Content provided by 58 universities and a few public libraries located in Spain, Portugal and South America. Journal directory with over 8,000 journals and almost 4 million. documents. Includes some digitized theses and dissertations. Search interface can be viewed in 10 languages.