Skip to main content

SPAN 3110: Advanced Conversation & Composition I

Introduction

This guide is intended to help you with the final project for this class, from choosing a topic to finding resources for your essay.  

When searching for sources, it's a good idea to start with ArticlesPlus, ALICE, and the Oxford Bibliography for Latin American Studies (if it's appropriate to your topic). Then go on to other pages in this Guide for additional sources. 

For additional resources—not strictly literary—see the Latin American Studies research guide.

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

ArticlesPlus does not include everything. We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.

ALICE Catalog

 

 

ALICE lists the books, videos,  magazines, journals, newspapers, & etc. in OU’s libraries.

Careful: use ArticlesPlus to find articles; use ALICE to find books.

Oxford Bibliography on Latin American Studies

Map of Latin America on a globeThe Oxford Bibliogaphy online for Latin American Studies, is a wonderful source for starting to explore a research topic--or even to get ideas for a topic in the first place.

  • Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
  • In-depth coverage of  more than a hundred topics.
  • Each entry has a “Find this resource” link which makes it easy to locate the book or journal article in our collection.
  • If you sign up for a free "My OBO" account, you can create custom lists of resources that match your interests.