All images sourced from the Libraries' Digital Archives and hosted in the digital content management system CONTENTdm are IIIF-enabled.
This means the images are interoperable and can be displayed via a simple image link.
They can also be displayed in various IIIF viewers & interfaces via a IIIF manifest link.
Before publishing or reusing images:
- Ensure that there are no copyright restrictions, or your use qualifies as Fair Use.
- For Digital Archives images, the rights status is often indicated in the image description.
- Ensure that all images are responsibly cited and attributed.
- For Digital Archives images, include the creator and/or collection name, the repository, and a link to the image page.
Sourcing IIIF Images
A growing number of institutions have adopted IIIF as a standard and provide manifests in their digital collections which can be used in the same manner described below. Look for the IIIF logo on the content providers' site. This usually indicates that a manifest URL is available.
The IIIF Resource Guide provides a list of prominent IIIF collections and specific instructions for locating manifest URLs within each. The list includes the British Library, David Rumsey Map Collection, Internet Archive, Library of Congress, Smithsonian Institute, and Wikipedia. Many more collections are IIIF-enabled, though not all display the logo or publicly share manifests.
OHIO Digital Archives - IIIF Image Links
To find an image link for a Digital Archives item, scroll down to locate the "IIIF Image" field within the item description. The link will end with .jpg
See this digital object page for example:
https://media.library.ohio.edu/digital/collection/lynnjohnson/id/728
The IIIF image URL is:
https://media.library.ohio.edu/iiif/2/lynnjohnson:739/full/full/0/default.jpg
OHIO Digital Archives - IIIF Manifest Links
To find a IIIF manifest link for a Digital Archives item, scroll down to locate the "IIIF Manifest" field within the object description. The link will end with .json
See this digital object page for example:
https://media.library.ohio.edu/digital/collection/lynnjohnson/id/728
The IIIF manifest link is:
https://media.library.ohio.edu/iiif/2/lynnjohnson:728/manifest.json
