Encyclopedias, Bibliographies and Dictionaries
Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide important background information on a topic, factual information such as names, numbers, dates etc. In addition to the information provided in encyclopedia articles are the references usually provided at the end of articles. These are pointers to additional resources available on the topic.
- Africa: an encyclopedia for studentsPresents Africa, from Egypt to Cape Town and from prehistoric times to the present day. Spans many disciplines, covering animals, foods, holidays and festivals, tribal groups, ecology, music and art, trade and economy, geography, religion, folklore, and fossil and skeletal discoveries.
- Africa Bibliography
A guide to works in African studies, includes a wide range of material: monographs, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, and pamphlets. It covers all regions of Africa, including North Africa. It lists works published in English as well as a number of other languages: Portuguese, French, Italian, German, Swahili, Spanish and Afrikaans. - Encyclopedia of African historyCovers the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, this A-Z reference examines the history of the entire African continent.
- Historical dictionary of women in Sub-Saharan AfricaOpens with an essay on African women's history, and includes a chronology of African women's history. Includes country index, a 100-page bibliography that is organized first into historical periods and then into twenty topical categories including art, education, health, human rights, literature, marriage, slavery, and urbanization.
- New Encyclopedia of AfricaContains over 1,000 signed entries from about 600 contributors, addressing "the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries."
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: African StudiesAn online annotated bibliography that provides information on a wide variety of scholarship related to Africa and serves as a guide to the current scholarship in a diverse and complex multidisciplinary field. It covers the most significant themes, areas and best sources for exploring them.
