Electronic Reference
- Africa: an encyclopedia for studentsPresents Africa, from Egypt to Cape Town and from prehistoric times to the present day. Spans many disciplines, covering animals, foods, holidays and festivals, tribal groups, ecology, music and art, trade and economy, geography, religion, folklore, and fossil and skeletal discoveries.
- Africa Bibliography
A guide to works in African studies, includes a wide range of material: monographs, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, and pamphlets. It covers all regions of Africa, including North Africa. It lists works published in English as well as a number of other languages: Portuguese, French, Italian, German, Swahili, Spanish and Afrikaans. - Encyclopedia of African religionProvides ideas, concepts, discourses, and essays on the African religious tradition. Explores such topics as deities and divinities, the nature of humanity, the end of life, the conquest of fear, and the quest for attainment of harmony with nature and other humans.
- Encyclopedia of African historyCovers the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, this A-Z reference examines the history of the entire African continent.
- A Political and Economic Dictionary of Africa (Routledge Politics and International Relations Online)Provides an essential guide to the politics and economics of the African continent. Each country's recent history and economy are described and analyzed in separate essays.
- A political chronology of AfricaProvides a concise profile of events from early history up to the mid-twentieth century as well as presenting greater detail on more recent events.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: African StudiesAn online annotated bibliography that provides information on a wide variety of scholarship related to Africa and serves as a guide to the current scholarship in a diverse and complex multidisciplinary field. It covers the most significant themes, areas and best sources for exploring them.
- The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought (Oxford Reference)From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anti-colonialist movements of Pan Africanism and Negritude, The Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora.
Print Reference
Encyclopedia of Africa by Publication Date: 2010-02-17
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East, 2-Volume Set by Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Historical Dictionary of Pre-Colonial Africa by Publication Date: 2001-07-17
