Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide important background information on a topic, factual information such as names, numbers, dates etc. In addition to the information provided in encyclopedia articles are the references usually provided at the end of articles. These are pointers to additional resources available on the topic.
Bibliographies are guides to works on a topic including monographs, book chapters and journal articles. It is important to begin your research on a topic with a reference material.
A guide to works in African studies, includes a wide range of material: monographs, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, and pamphlets. It covers all regions of Africa, including North Africa. It lists works published in English as well as a number of other languages: Portuguese, French, Italian, German, Swahili, Spanish and Afrikaans.
Provides ideas, concepts, discourses, and essays on the African religious tradition. Explores such topics as deities and divinities, the nature of humanity, the end of life, the conquest of fear, and the quest for attainment of harmony with nature and other humans.
Covers the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, this A-Z reference examines the history of the entire African continent.
An online annotated bibliography that provides information on a wide variety of scholarship related to Africa and serves as a guide to the current scholarship in a diverse and complex multidisciplinary field. It covers the most significant themes, areas and best sources for exploring them.
From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anti-colonialist movements of Pan Africanism and Negritude, The Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora.