Skip to main content

Ohio University

Geological Sciences

Resources for students and faculty in the Department of Geological Sciences

Get started in Geological Sciences

Waterfall in the Hocking HillsWelcome to the Library Research Guide for the geological sciences! This Guide contains information and tools about doing both library-based and online research in Geology.

If you need help in finding and using any of these sources, don't hesitate to contact me at using the links below or use the other sources of information on the Libraries "Get Help" page.

Start with GEOBASE and ArticlesPlus, below; they can lead you to a great deal of information on geology. Use the other pages of this Guide to find even more.

GEOBASE

GEOBASE® is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings, GEOBASE has the most international coverage of any database in the field.

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

ArticlesPlus does not include everything. We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.

Departmental Website

The Department of Geological Sciences website contains information on undergraduate and graduate programs, faculty, research, student organizations, scholarships, department news and much more.

Information about majors, financial aid, registration, choosing a major, undergraduate research and policies etc. can be found on the College of Arts and Sciences webpage.