The Cochrane Library is a regularly updated electronic library designed to provide the evidence needed for healthcare decision making. The Cochrane Library contains: systematic reviews, reviews of effectiveness, controlled trials, and methodology reviews
Health Services Technology Assessment Texts includes: clinical practice guidelines, quick-reference guides for clinicians, consumer brochures, evidence reports, technology assessment reports, research protocols, and other guidelines.
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus provides health professionals and consumers information that is authoritative and up to date. The database includes extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 800 topics on wellness, diseases, and conditions. It also includes a drug database and links to clinical trials.
A service of the U.S. National Institutes of Health and is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Learn more About Clinical Studies and About This Site, including relevant History, Policies, and Laws.
CEBM Statistics Calculator - This multi-functional tool allows you to calculate data for several different types of evidence--diagnostic tests, prospective studies, case control studies, and randomized controlled trials (RCTs).
Diagnostic Test - calculates the Sensitivity, Specificity, PPV, NPV, LR+, and LR-
Prospective Study - calculates the Relative Risk (RR), Absolute Relative Risk (ARR), and Number Needed to Treat (NNT)
Case-control Study - calculates the Odds Ratio (OR)
Randomized Control Trial (RCT) - calculates the Relative Risk Reduction (RRR), ARR, and NNT
Likelihood Ratio (LR) Calculations- The LR is used to assess how good a diagnostic test is and to help in selecting an appropriate diagnostic test(s) or sequence of tests. They have advantages over sensitivity and specificity because they are less likely to change with the prevalence of the disorder, they can be calculated for several levels of the symptom/sign or test, they can be used to combine the results of multiple diagnostic test and the can be used to calculate post-test probability for a target disorder.
Odds Ratio- In statistics, the odds ratio (usually abbreviated "OR") is one of three main ways to quantify how strongly the presence or absence of property A is associated with the presence or absence of property B in a given population.
Odds Ratio to NNT Converter - To convert odds ratios to NNTs, enter a number that is > 1 or < 1 in the odds ratio textbox and a number that is not equal to 0 or 1 for the Patient's Expected Event Rate (PEER). After entering the numbers, click "Calculate" to convert the odds ratio to NNT.
Relative Risk Calculator - In statistics and epidemiology, relative risk or risk ratio (RR) is the ratio of the probability of an event occurring (for example, developing a disease, being injured) in an exposed group to the probability of the event occurring in a comparison, non-exposed group.