Encyclopedias on the New Testament and Early Christianity
Encyclopedias such as those listed on this page can be great places go start your research. My rule of thumb is the less you know about a subject, the more useful it may be to start by reading a few encyclopedia articles on the topic.
And don't read just for the content of the articles themselves: at the end of many encyclopedia articles you can find brief listings of books, articles, etc. for more information on the topic at hand.
- The Biblical WorldOnline. An "...overview of the full range of biblical material (Old Testament, Apocrypha and New Testament), as well as more detailed discussions of the major genres of biblical literature - from myth and prophecy to poetry and proverbs. The contributors also consider the ways in which the texts have been transmitted, the significance of parallel and related versions, and past interpretations of the Bible."
- Encyclopedia of Early ChristianityOnline. Contains 1,245 alphabetically arranged, cross-referenced entries which explore theological, historical and literary viewpoints, and include people, places, doctrines, practices, art, liturgy, heresies, and schisms.
- Encyclopedia of The Historical JesusOnline. Contains lengthy entries that discuss the role, thought, and the interpretation of the historical Jesus in the context of such subjects as the Gospels, theological concepts, critical approaches, influential theologians, biblical figures, rhetorical styles, other figures in Jesus's life, historical places, and Jesus's teachings.
- Who's Who In The New TestamentOnline. Contains information on every figure from the New Testament, this perennial favorite provides comprehensive historical, geographical, and archaeological background on each entry, full interpretive analysis of the varying versions of the Gospel.