Resources
Start finding information on the cost, use, etc. of your chemical.
Product Information
Many of the encyclopedias listed have older editions. It can be helpful to check multiple additions because sometimes the information provided changes from edition to edition.
Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology by Call Number: TP145 .R53 2007 (Alden 7th Floor)ISBN: 9780387278421Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyCall Number: TP9 .K54 2004 (Alden 2nd Floor Reference)ISBN: 9780471484943Publication Date: 2004-03-29
Shreve's Chemical Process Industries by Call Number: TP145 .S5 1998x (Alden 7th Floor)ISBN: 9780071350112Publication Date: 1998-12-15
There are also many encyclopedias and handbooks online, which have the added benefit of being able to search the content.
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Covers the science and technology in industrial chemistry including inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, and environmental protection. Access: Ohio U. all campuses (including off campus) - Knovel
Includes electronic books on biochemistry, biology, and biotechnology; chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials; electronics, semiconductors; mechanics and mechanical engineering; and sustainable energy and development. Data provided in tables is searchable and Knovel provides a variety of ways to interact with the content. Access: Ohio U. Athens campus only (including off campus) - ChemicalENGINEERINGnetBASE
Access to chemical engineering handbooks from CRC Press. Access: Ohio U Athens campus Only (including off campus)
Chemical prices can be tricky to find as there is no one comprehensive resource, since Chemical Market Reporter was bought by ICIS Chemical Business in 2006. There are multiple techniques to employee to try to find the price. What works for one chemical may not work for another.
- Search the Web
Historical Data:
- Indicative Chemical Prices A-Z from ICIS
- Search SciFinder
SciFinder will usually provide information about companies that supply chemicals and sometimes will list prices. Once you determine which company produces the chemical, you may have to contact them to determine the price.
- SciFinder-n
Research tool for use by students and faculty to easily access the information in chemistry and related areas. It covers journals, patents, and conference proceedings. Because of licensing agreements, SciFinder may only be used by current Ohio University students, faculty, and staff for academic purposes. SciFinder Scholar may not be used for commercial purposes. Access: Contact Andrew Stuart (stuarta@ohio.edu OR 740-593-2698) or John Canter (canter@ohio.edu OR 740-593-0329) for registration information.
Directions:
- Login to SciFinder.
- Select how you want to search for substances you have several choices (see image to the right):
- Molecular Formula, e.g., gasoline = C8H18 or
- Substance Identifier, e.g., CAS Registry Number for gasoline = 636581-03-8
- Enter the necessary information. Click "Search."
- Click "Substance Detail" (see image below).
- Click "Get Commercial Sources" to find suppliers.
What is happening in the chemical industry that may be effecting your chemical, its feedstock, etc. (price, production quantity, etc.)? Searching business databases and trade publications can give you some insight.
- A simple search, to do in Business Source Complete, is to enter the chemical compound you have been assigned (or feedstock chemicals required for production). This could result in a lot of articles so you may need to add additional terms (e.g., prices, demand, production, supply). If you find an article that is perfect for your project, look at its subject category/descriptors for additional terms to modify your search.
- Factiva is a business database that includes chemical industry information. You can search for your chemical name, chemical identifiers, formulas, etc.
Additional Resource:
- Business Blog
Company, marketing, and economic resources created by Chad Boeninger, OU's Business Librarian.