Finding Newspaper Articles
Do you need to find recent newspaper articles?
Do you need to find older newspaper articles?
- Historical Newspapers in Online Full-text Format
- Newspapers in Microform Format
- Historical Ohio Newspapers
Ethnic Press/Alternative Press
To find articles from newspapers aimed at specific audiences try these online databases:
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1960-present)
- GenderWatch (1970-present)
- Alternative Press Index and Archive (AltPressIndexCombined ; 1969-1990)
- Alternative Press Index (EBSCOhost ; 1991-present)
- Alternative Press Index (print index ; 1969-1997)
- Hate in America
- African American NewspapersExplore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- American Indian NewspapersFrom historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada.
- Illustrated London News Digital Archive, 1842-2003The Illustrated London News is the world’s first and perhaps most celebrated illustrated newspaper. The fact that the rise of the Illustrated London News coincided with the expansion of the British Empire throughout the non-Western world gives it added relevance and historical significance.
- World Newspaper Archive, African Newspapers Series 1 (1800-1922)Searchable online collection of digitized historical Sub-Saharan African newspapers in English and foreign-language titles published in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Lexis UniInternational Newspaper Database
Newspapers at CRL
Ohio University is a long-standing member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), a consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries. Ohio University students and faculty thus have unlimited access to an enormous collection amounting to roughly five million items, including the largest circulating collection of newspapers in North America. In order to borrow materials from CRL, one must submit an interlibrary loan online here (indicate in the note field that CRL is the lending institution).