University Libraries

An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

Encyclopedia of Life’s portal includes more than 160,000 authenticated species pages, another 1.4 million base pages and links to 14 million pages of digitized biodiversity literature.

Site covers all aspects of the activities of the Endangered Species Section of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

The goal of the Species 2000 project is to create a validated checklist of all the world's species (plants, animals, fungi and microbes). The site brings together an array of global species databases covering each of the major groups of organisms.

A collection of information about biodiversity compiled by expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct. Connections between ToL web pages follow phylogenetic branching patterns between groups of organisms, so visitors can browse the hierarchy of life and learn about phylogeny and evolution as well as the characteristics of individual groups.