University Libraries

Art History Teaching Resources (AHTR)
is a peer-populated platform for art history teachers. AHTR is home to a constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities.

ArtxHistory is an education resource of commonly available images, videos, mini-lectures and scholarship of the decades which influenced or defined mid-century through contemporary art. Most links are concise in content, of prevalent works of art in the early or mature stage of an artist's career, sourced from museum, academic, journalistic and for profit institutions.

Find free online classes in poetry, art history, world cultures, classical art, modern art and European painting from top universities worldwide.

Smarthistory’s free, award-winning digital content unlocks the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other provider.

Open Yale Courses (OYC) provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet.

Open Arts Objects (OAO) is an open access platform which provides over 50 free films to support the teaching of Art History.

The Artists Archives of the Western Reserve is a unique archival facility and regional museum that preserves representative bodies of work created by Ohio visual artists and, through ongoing research, exhibition and educational programs, actively documents and promotes this cultural heritage for the benefit of the public.

​The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

With one of the most valuable growing collections of material on the recent history of art from Asia, freely available from our website and onsite library, AAA builds tools and communities to collectively expand knowledge through research, residency, and educational programmes.

First launched in 2002, Documents of 20th-Century Latin American and Latino Art: A Digital Archive and Publications Project (now Documents of Latin American and Latino Art) is an initiative dedicated to the recovery and publication of primary source materials and critical texts related to Latin American and Latinx art.

The Getty Provenance Index (GPI) provides access to archival inventories, sales catalogs, and dealer stock books

Librarians, scholars, and curators provide topical overviews of Research Institute collections and specialized areas of research.

The Getty Research Portal is a free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. Contains some open access and public domain images.

You can help The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library Archives make historical documents more searchable and accessible by transcribing digitized materials. To enhance the research value of this collection, we need your help in transcribing these items.

The DAHS fosters and supports the practice and publication of art
 historical scholarship incorporating and benefitting from digital
strategies and technologies by providing a forum for presenting and 
advancing digital art history, examining problems confronting the 
field, and identifying scholarly needs and opportunities to its 
members.

A curated selection of resources covering digital art history.

#dariahTeach is a platform for Open Educational Resources (OER) for Digital Arts and Humanities educators and students, but also beyond this aiming at Higher Education across a spectrum of disciplines, at teachers and trainers engaged in the digital transformation of programme content and learning methods. #dariaTeach has two key objectives: sharing and reuse, thus developing a place for people to publish their teaching material and for others to use it in their own teaching.