This guide provides an overview of Appalachian studies related collections and resources held in the Mahn Center for Archives & Special Collections as well as in the broader Ohio University Libraries Collections.
Alden Library has holdings of these journals which are directly concerned with Appalachia. Note that some of them are not included in ANY of our online databases--you will need to locate them in our collection and browse their contents.
Indexes to articles (1973 to the present) about geography, earth sciences, ecology, planning, geology and remote sensing from journals, books, proceedings, reports and dissertations.
Article database covering more than 200 journals (with full text for about 50 of them) in the subject areas of dance, film, drama, opera, stagecraft, comedy, pantomime, puppetry, magic, radio, and television.
A service of the National Library of Medicine that provides access to over 14 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life sciences journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Indexes journals (from 1979 to the present) focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Comprehensive article database with abstracts for more than 590 "core" Sociology journals dating back to 1895.
The video below outlines the process for getting from a reference in a database to the full text of an article, using ArticlesPlus as an example. The process is similar for many other databases.