Consent
Many Databases from Many Fields Could Apply
- PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service InternationalStrong on government policy, international relations, political slant on a topic. Also has thesaurus for power searchers.
- Public Affairs IndexThis database covers national and global contemporary public policy issues. Sources includes scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents.
- PsychInfoThe standard database for the field of psychology.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collectioncovers on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- CQ ResearcherFull-text reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. This is a great resource when you are beginning your topic or you are comparing two sides of a topic.
- Opposing Viewpoints-Really good for current issues and hot topics
-Includes images, statistics, audio, and video files.
- Sociological AbstractsFrom Proquest, which means it is NOT indexed in Articles Plus.Formerly social services abstracts.
- SocINDEXUseful for socio-cultural anthropology. Provides full text of journal articles, as well as indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. EBSCO database, included in Articles Plus.
- Sociological CollectionThis database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals in areas of sociology including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
- PubMedPubMed comprises more than 20 million citations from biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books. One of the most used health and medicine resources.
- Consumer Health CompleteInformation lay people can understand about health topics.
- CINAHLUseful for its patient advocacy information. Covers nursing, alternative and complementary medicine, nutrition, physical therapy, and consumer health.
- Nexis Uni
The most comprehensive legal research database we subscribe to. While sometimes difficult to use, it includes legislative history, law, case law, and regulation, for every state & federal. Ask for help if you get stuck.
We've added links several other places on this guide for subsets of NexisUni; this links to the main page.
Nexis Uni is the new version of Lexis Nexis.
- Gender Studies DatabaseMost comprehensive coverage of core titles, both in number and depth. Some full text.A combination of Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases (1972 to the present).EBSCO.
- GenderWatchGender Watch covers Gender studies, Women’s Studies, LGBT, Queer studies, and related interests. Proquest: i.e., NOT included in Articles Plus results. Full text for many core WGS journals, but not as comprehensive in coverage as GSD.
- LGBT Life with Full Text"...covering major journals, magazines and regional newspapers on gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues." EBSCO
ArticlesPlus or Not ArticlesPlus?
Subject Databases have advantages and disadvantages over Articles Plus. For example, in Women's Studies:
Example:"Image and Media and Women"
- in Articles Plus yields 19,900 hits
- in Gender Studies database: 1,000 hits.
But you can't use all 1,000 hits, let alone 20,000.
What do you want?
- If you want every possible point of view, use Articles Plus.
- If you want pointed, especially feminist writing, use gender databases.