University Libraries

The focus of this book is on speech production and speech processing associated with cleft palate, covering phonetic (perceptual and instrumental), phonological and psycholinguistic perspectives, and including coverage of implications for literacy and education, as well as cross-linguistic differences.

A core clinical guide to diagnoses and interventions for auditory processing deficits (APD). The book contains the latest guidelines on screening, diagnosis, and intervention of auditory processing deficits and includes key information on related assessment tools and management strategies.

Concisely presents the must-know information for completing every step of your Audiology Capstone Project. From choosing a research topic and mentor, to conducting the research and publishing the results, the authors provide you with the essential information for a productive and successful Capstone experience. Structured chronologically to parallel the Capstone's progression, each succinctly organized chapter includes bulleted lists for fast reference and call-out boxes that provide examples of database tables, as well as helpful reminders about audiology equipment and software.

This comprehensive text covers various types and degrees of hearing loss and the resulting auditory, speech, and language difficulties. Moving away from an exclusively diagnostic format of audiology practices, this text also focuses on the rehabilitative aspects of hearing loss. Presents detailed information on all audiometric testing procedures and how to read and interpret audiometric results. The text covers programmatic planning from early intervention through geriatrics while also providing a thorough review of normal hearing development from birth through eight years of age.

This introductory book is written for ENTs, prospective hearing instrument specialists studying to obtain their state license, audiology assistants, and speech pathologists working with hearing impaired adults. It also is an excellent introduction for Au. D. students or practicing audiologists just beginning work with hearing aid dispensing. This extremely practical and engaging book logically takes the reader from beginning to end of the entire hearing aid selection and fitting process.

By combining the strengths of traditional textbooks with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource. This bestselling and trusted text: covers the full range of communication disorders in adults, from aphasia to voice disorders and gives a comprehensive outline of basic assessment procedures. This book Provides a set of protocols that are necessary to assess any communication disorder in adults.

Graduate students and practicing clinicians will benefit from the text's detailed coverage of various research topics. Specifically, readers will learn the strengths and weaknesses of different research methodologies, apply the results of research to clinical practice and decision-making, and understand the importance of research ethics. Clinical Research Methods is the only text to take into account qualitative research and evidence-based practice, and to provide a detailed discussion of research ethics.

Voice and Communication Therapy for the Transgender/Gender Diverse Client: A Comprehensive Clinical Guide, Third Edition remains a must-have resource for speech-language pathologists, voice clinicians and trainers who assist transgender/gender diverse clients in aligning their communication with their gender identity. Such goals for transfeminine, transmasculine and gender diverse people are far from insurmountable given appropriate training. This third edition builds on the work of the first two editions, and meets the clinical and training needs of an even larger and better-informed core of speech language pathologists and trainers.

Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition combines the strengths of traditional texts with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource. This bestselling and trusted text includes an extensive discussion of issues in using standardized tests along with detailed information on psychometric principles and offers a detailed discussion of alternative assessment approaches that minimize the problems inherent to standardized tests.

Language Disorders in Bilingual Children and Adults, Third Edition, provides speech-language pathologists, advanced students in communication disorders programs, and clinical language researchers with information needed to formulate and respond to questions related to effective service delivery to bilingual children and adults with suspected or confirmed language disorders. The bilinguals of interest represent varying levels of first and second language proficiency across the lifespan.

Toxicological Aspects of Medical Device Implants provides comprehensive information on the use of medical implant and devices and the balance between the application of the devices in relation to any potential adverse effects.