Skip to Main Content

HIST 3111J: Historical Research and Writing

Primary Sources on the Cold War

Cold War Cartoon  https://openendedsocialstudies.org/2018/06/04/who-caused-the-cold-war/

Source: Open Ended Social Studies, Creative Commons Attribution

ProQuest History Vault 

Includes:

  •     American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975
  •     NAACP Papers: The NAACP's major campaigns--education, voting, housing, employment, armed forces
  •     NAACP Papers: The NAACP's major campaigns--Scottsboro, anti-lynching, criminal justice, peonage, labor, and segregation   
  •     World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees 
  •     Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961 
  •     Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969 
  •     Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

Declassified Documents Reference System

  • Includes declassified documents and reports from the CIA, FBI, and U.S. State Department 

Digital National Security Archives‚Äč

  • Includes declassified U.S. government documents and reports of relevance to national security and military affairs

Archives Direct

Includes the following British foreign office collections:
    • Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
    • Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
    • Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
    • Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service includes translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.

Subjects: History