Journals and Articles
These journal databases will help identify some of the scholarship surrounding service learning and community engagement in higher education. This may be a good place to start to gain a better pedagogical understanding of service learning.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a multidiciplinary database consisting of articles from both scohlary and popular sources.
- ERICERIC is a subject database for education. This journal database consists of scholarly articles on all things education K-12 and higher education. ERIC is a great place to start when looking for scholarship on service-learning and related topics.
- Education Research CompleteEducation Research Complete is similar to ERIC in that is a collection of journals and scholarship of edcuation. (Pro-Tip: you may want to search this and ERIC at the same time.)
- JSTORJSTOR is a multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles and eBooks. You may see some overlapping content but you'll likely gain a few more results. Additionally, you may see some content from a disciplinary point-of-view.
These journals would be considered Open Access which means that anyone can access them without a subscription. Don't limit yourself to only these journals when researching the scholarship surrounding campus-community partnerships. It is highly recommended that you utilize one or more of the journal databases located in the tabs on the left or right.
- Community Works JournalA publication of the Community Works Institute, this journal supports teaching practices that build community.
- Diversity & DemocracyThis journal provides support for civic learning and democratic engagement in higher education, including focusing on global learning and engaging students with diversity in many forms.
- International Journal of Research on Service-Learning and Community Engagement.Published by the International Association for Research on Service-Learning and Community Engagement, this journal focuses on scholarship related to engagement. It aims to be rigorous, multi-disciplinary, comprehensive, and international in scope.
- Journal of Community Engagement and Higher Education.This journal includes a balance of research and practice, with many case studies.
- Journal of Community Engagement and ScholarshipIncludes the integration of teaching, research, and engagement. Opportunities are available for students to volunteer as editorial liaisons.
- Journal of Higher Education Outreach and EngagementThis journal seeks to be the premier interdisciplinary journal focused on community engagement theory and practice.
- Journal of Public Scholarship in Higher Education.This journal provides a venue for disseminating knowledge across disciplines as a product of campus-community partnerships.
- Michigan Journal of Community Service Learning.The journal encourages research and pedagogical scholarship to inform and expand the community of service-learning practitioners/researchers.
- Partnerships: A Journal of Service-Learning and Civic Engagement.Partnerships focuses on improving campus-community collaborations through theory and practice. Articles coauthored with community partners and students, as well as intercampus projects are particularly encouraged.
- Undergraduate Journal of Service Learning and Community-Based Research.This journal welcomes intellectual and reflective works by undergraduate students, encouraging student voice in community engagement research.
If you are looking for ideas on how to include service learning and community engagement into your course, you may want to run a literature search within a subject-specific database. This may provide you with some ideas and examples of how other faculty in your field are implementing service learning and community engagement into their courses.
This listing isn't complete. It is recommended that you speak to your subject librarian to find scholarship related to your specific field of study.