Skip to main content

Ohio University Libraries

Law and Society

African Law & Society Digital Collections and Research Guides

Asian Law & Society Digital Collections & Research Guides

  • South Asian Legal History Resources Research Guide by Mitra Sharafi at University of Wisconsin Law School
  • Bhopal: Law, Accidents and Disasters in India at University of Wisconsin Law School. This online archive chronicles the legal proceedings that followed and commemorates the role Galanter played in trying to secure compensation for the victims. The archive features the extensive collection of legal documents of Dr. Marc Galanter, professor emeritus of law and South Asian studies at University of Wisconsin.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies by EBSCOhost more than 410,000 records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
  • The Long Emergency: Media and Democracy in India: The Long Emergency Collection was primarily conceived as a series of oral history interviews documenting journalistic praxis around the time of the Indian emergency (1975-1977). To convey a sense of the “spirit of the times,” the collection also includes a selection of material from this period such as films, cartoons, news clippings, government documents, and court judgments. The oral histories collected here suggest some of the many ways in which the ‘Long Emergency’ resonates for readers and researchers today: they are clearly shaped by retrospect—the act of recollection and reflection some 40 years after the fact. Many of the narratives unravel the threads that link the political discourse of the past four decades to the events of the 1970s. Some also recall the ‘prehistory’ of conflicts around press freedom in even earlier events. The Long Emergency Collection is maintained by Srirupa Roy at the Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS) at the University of Göttingen in Germany.

Australasian Law & Society Digital Collections & Research Guides

European Law & Society Digital Collections & Research Guides

North American (non-US) Law & Society Digital Collections & Research Guides

South American Law & Society Digital Collections & Research Guides