Skip to main content

Ohio University Libraries

Law and Society

US Law & Society Digital Collections

  • ProQuest Congressional, 1789 - present is a database of U.S. Congressional documents. Includes the full text of many Congressional hearings, committee reports, and committee documents. It also includes legislative histories of current laws, as well as reports on legislative topics from the Congressional Research Service. 
  • FDSys (Federal Digital System) provides access to a wide variety of databases that contain full text U.S. government documents, including Congressional bills, Public and Private Laws, and Code of Federal Regulations.
  • Congress.gov provides access to federal U.S. legislation from 2001 to the present; view current legislative activities; find information about current members of Congress.
  • LexisNexis Academic includes State & Federal Court Cases from 1944 on, searchable by citation, parties, or topic.
  • FBI Vault: The FBI FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media, including some interesting documents regarding FBI investigations of civil rights leaders, academics, and others.

US Law & Society Research Guides

  • Immigration Executive Orders (University of California Berkeley Law): This research guide provides information and links to resources on researching President Trump's Executive Orders and on immigration law generally.
  • American Indian Law (University of California Berkeley Law): This guide is designed to assist the scholar or student researching the law of the United States as it pertains to the American Indian.