Skip to main content

Ohio University Libraries

Nursing

The purpose of this guide is to highlight resources in Nursing, and to provide research guidance and tips.

Introduction to OHIO Libraries Special Collections

The Ohio University Archives & Special Collections contains books, manuscripts, and archives. This can be found in the Mahn Center on the fifth floor of Alden Library. The Mahn Center has several policies and procedures for visiting and viewing material which can be found here. There are also collections available online through the Digital Archives. For help with the Special Collections & Archives material please contact Miriam Intrator

 Included in the Digital Archives is a collection from the Athens Mental Health center which gives records from the Athens Lunatic Asylum, located at what is now known as the Ridges. This collection has patient records dating back to 1874 when the Asylum first opened. Below is an informative tutorial on how to access material from the Digital Collection, focusing on the Athens Asylum records, and how to use the information ethically. 

Ethics in Archival & Historical Research: Featuring the Athens Mental Health Center (AMHC) Collection

This tutorial will help you think through why we use sensitive materials in research, and how we can ensure that we are using them as ethically and thoughtfully as possible. Click here to begin the tutorial or the image below to open the tutorial in a new window.

image of ethics in archival and historical research tutorial - link to connect