Solo Voice
Classification Numbers
Secular Vocal Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Operas |
|
|
M1500 |
Scores (full) |
|
M1503 |
Piano-vocal scores |
|
M1505–1508 |
Excerpts (with original or arranged accompaniment) |
|
Other Dramatic Music |
|
|
M1510–1518 |
Incidental music |
|
M1520–1526 |
Ballets |
|
M1527 |
Motion picture, radio, and television music |
|
M1528–1529.5 |
Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices |
|
Songs (including arias and solo cantatas): Orchestral Accompaniment |
|
|
M1611 |
Collections: full scores |
|
M1612 |
Collections: piano-vocal scores |
|
M1613 |
Separate works: full scores |
|
M1613.3 |
Separate works: other accompaniment |
|
M1614 |
Separate works: piano accompaniment |
|
M1615 |
Arrangements: Collections: full scores |
|
M1616 |
Arrangements: Collections: piano-vocal scores |
|
M1617 |
Arrangements: Separate works: full scores |
|
M1618 |
Arrangements: Separate works: piano accompaniment |
|
Songs: Other accompaniment or no accompaniment |
|
|
M1619 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M1620 |
Collections: one composer |
|
M1621 |
Separate works: piano accompaniment |
|
M1621.2 |
Separate works: unaccompanied |
|
M1621.3 |
Separate works: accompanied by piano and one other instrument |
|
M1621.4 |
Song cycles |
|
M1622 |
Vaudeville, music-hall songs, etc. |
|
M1623 |
Accompaniment of one other instrument: Collections |
|
M1624 |
Accompaniment of one other instrument: Separate works |
|
M1625–1626 |
Recitations with music |
|
M1627–1853 |
National songs (solo songs and part-songs) |
|
M1900–1978 |
Songs (solo songs and part-songs) of groups and schools or about special subjects |
|
M1990–1998 |
Secular music for children |
Sacred Vocal Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M2018–2019.5 |
Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices |
|
Songs with orchestra, etc. accompaniment |
|
|
M2102 |
Collections |
|
M2103 |
Separate songs: Full scores |
|
M2103.3 |
Separate songs: Other accompaniment |
|
M2104 |
Separate songs: piano-vocal scores |
|
M2105–2108 |
Arrangements |
|
Songs with piano accompaniment |
|
|
M2110 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M2112 |
Collections (one composer) |
|
M2113 |
Separate songs: accompaniment of one instrument |
|
M2113.2 |
Separate songs: unaccompanied |
|
M2113.3 |
Song cycles |
|
M2114 |
Special texts: By religion or denomination |
|
M2115–2146 |
Hymnals: By religion or denomination |
|
M2190–2196 |
Sacred vocal music for children |
Singing and Vocal Techniques
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT820 |
General works |
|
MT821 |
Physiology and care of the voice |
|
MT823 |
History of vocal instruction and study |
|
Systems and methods |
|
|
MT825 |
American |
|
MT830 |
English |
|
MT835 |
French |
|
MT840 |
German |
|
MT845 |
Italian |
|
MT850 |
Other |
|
MT853 |
Systems using audio-visual aids |
|
Special techniques |
|
|
MT855 |
General works |
|
MT860 |
Chanting |
|
MT870 |
Sight-singing |
|
MT875 |
Chorus and part-singing |
|
MT878 |
Breathing |
|
MT882 |
Tone production |
|
MT883 |
Pronunciation; diction |
|
MT885 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT890 |
Instructive editions; teaching pieces |
|
MT892 |
Interpretation, phrasing, expression |
|
MT893 |
Self-instructors |
|
MT898–916 |
Vocal techniques for children |
Keyword Searches (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo vocal music: |
songs, unaccompanied sacred songs, unaccompanied |
|
Voice and piano music: |
songs (high voice) with piano; songs (medium voice) with piano; songs (low voice) with piano sacred songs (high voice) with piano; sacred songs (medium voice) with piano; sacred songs (low voice) with piano |
|
Duets: |
vocal duets, unaccompanied vocal duets with piano; vocal duets with chamber orchestra; vocal duets with guitar; etc. |
|
Trios: |
vocal trios, unaccompanied vocal trios with piano; vocal trios with chamber orchestra; vocal trios with guitar; etc. |
Similar for quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.
Reference
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .S2 |
Sacred vocal music bibliographies |
|
Ref. ML128.V7 |
Vocal music bibliographies |
|
Vocal music |
|
|
ML1400 |
General works |
|
ML1402–1451 |
Vocal music (arranged by period then region or country) |
|
ML1460 |
Vocal technique |
|
Secular vocal music |
|
|
ML1600 |
General works |
|
ML1602–1651 |
By period then region or country |
|
ML1700–1751 |
Forms and types (general works; by period then region or country) |
|
ML2400–2551 |
Cantatas and songs: works about both solo songs and part-songs (arranged by period then region or country) |
|
ML2600–2670 |
Part-songs (arranged by period then region or country) |
|
ML2800–2854 |
Solo songs (arranged by period then region or country) |
|
ML2880–2881 |
Christmas songs |
|
Sacred vocal music |
|
|
ML2900 |
General works |
|
ML2902–2951 |
By period then region or country |
|
ML2999–3197 |
Individual religions and denominations |
|
ML3201–3275 |
Forms and types(oratorio, cantata, chorale) |
Choral Music
Secular choral music
Choruses with orchestra
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1530–1533 |
Mixed voices |
|
M1534–1537 |
Mixed voices: Excerpts |
|
M1538–1540 |
Men’s voices |
|
M1541–1542 |
Men’s voices: Excerpts |
|
M1543–1544 |
Treble voices |
|
M1545–1546 |
Treble voices: Excerpts |
|
M1546.5 |
Children’s voices |
Choruses with piano
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1547 |
Collections: Choruses, part-songs, glees, madrigals, etc. |
|
M1548 |
Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
|
M1549 |
Collections: Mixed voices |
|
M1550 |
Collections: Men’s voices |
|
M1551 |
Collections: Treble voices |
|
M1552 |
Separate works: Mixed voices |
|
M1560 |
Separate works: Men’s voices |
|
M1570 |
Separate works: Treble voices |
Choruses with other accompaniment
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1574 |
Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
|
M1575 |
Collections: Mixed voices |
|
M1576 |
Collections: Men’s voices |
|
M1577 |
Collections: Treble voices |
Choruses without accompaniment
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1578 |
Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
|
M1579 |
Collections: Mixed voices |
|
M1580 |
Collections: Men’s voices |
|
M1581 |
Collections: Treble voices |
|
M1582 |
Separate works: Mixed voices |
|
M1590 |
Separate works: Men’s voices |
|
M1600 |
Separate works: Treble voices |
Other choruses
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1608 |
Choruses in tonic sol-fa notation |
|
M1609 |
Unison choruses |
|
M1610 |
Cantatas, choral symphonies for unaccompanied chorus (secular and sacred) |
Sacred choral music
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1999 |
Collections of two or more composers |
Oratorios
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M2000 |
Full scores |
|
M2002 |
Scores without accompaniment |
|
M2003 |
Scores with piano accompaniment |
|
M2004 |
Excerpts with original accompaniment |
|
M2005 |
Excerpts with orchestral accompaniment |
|
M2006 |
Collections of excerpts with piano accompaniment |
|
M2007 |
Individual excerpts with piano accompaniment |
Religious services
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M2010–2014 |
Roman Catholic Masses: Requiems |
|
M2015 |
Orthodox |
|
M2016 |
Anglican |
|
M2017 |
Lutheran |
|
M2017.2 |
Other Protestant |
|
M2017.6 |
Jewish |
Choruses with Orchestra
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M2020–2023 |
Mixed voices |
|
M2025–2028 |
Mixed voices: Excerpts |
|
M2029–2030 |
Men’s voices |
|
M2031–2032 |
Men’s voices: Excerpts |
|
M2033–2034 |
Treble voices |
|
M2035–2036 |
Treble voices: Excerpts |
Choruses with piano
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M2060 |
Collections of accompanied and unaccompanied works |
|
M2061 |
Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
|
M2062 |
Collections: Mixed voices |
|
M2063 |
Collections: Men’s voices |
|
M2064 |
Collections: Treble voices |
|
M2065–2068 |
Collections: Special seasons/occasions |
|
M2069 |
By religion or denomination |
|
M2072 |
Separate works: Mixed voices |
|
M2073 |
Separate works: Men’s voices |
|
M2074 |
Separate works: Treble voices |
|
M2075–2078 |
Separate works: Special seasons/occasions |
Subject Headingsfor subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
cantatas, sacred
cantatas, secular
choral music
choruses, sacred
choruses, secular
oratorios
sacred vocal music
secular vocal music
Vocal ensembles:
vocal ensemble [secular, 10 or more voices]
vocal ensembles, unaccompanied
vocal ensembles with orchestra, vocal ensembles with continuo, etc.
sacred vocal ensemble [sacred, 10 or more voices]
sacred vocal ensembles, unaccompanied
sacred vocal ensembles with orchestra, vocal ensembles with continuo, etc.
Bibliographic Sources
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .C48 |
Bibliographies of choruses |
|
Ref. ML128.O45 |
Bibliographies of oratorios |
Choral music
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
ML1500–1551 |
Choral music (arranged by period then region) |
|
ML1554 |
Forms and types |
Secular vocal music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
ML2400 |
Cantata |
|
ML2500 |
Songs: General works |
|
ML2502–2505 |
Songs by period: Early to 1600, 1601–1700, 1701–1800, 1801–1900, 1901– |
|
ML2510–2513 |
North America |
|
ML2514–2515 |
West Indies and Mexico |
|
ML2516–2517 |
Central and South America |
|
ML2520–2551 |
Europe |
|
ML2600–2670 |
Part-songs (by period, region, then form) |
|
ML2800–2881 |
Solo songs (by period, region, then form) |
Sacred vocal music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
ML2900 |
General works |
|
ML2902–2906 |
By period: Early to 1600, 1601–1700,1701–1800, 1801–1900, 1901– |
|
ML2910–2913 |
North America |
|
ML2914–2915 |
West Indies and Mexico |
|
ML2916–2917 |
Central and South America |
|
ML2920–2951 |
Europe |
|
ML2999–3197 |
Individual religions and denomination arranged by period, region, form, then denomination |
Forms and types of sacred vocal music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
ML3201–3251 |
Oratorios (arranged by period then region) |
|
ML3260 |
Cantatas |
|
ML3265 |
Chorales |
|
ML3270 |
Church songs |
Singing and vocal technique
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT875 |
Chorus and part-singing |