Skip to main content

Ohio University

East Asian Studies

A Research Guide

ALICE Catalog, OhioLINK Catalog, and WorldCat

1. Start here: ALICE Library Catalog...

 
  • Includes: books, videos, magazine, journal, and newspaper titles, and more in ALL Ohio University campus libraries, plus the Library Annex.
  • Does not include: individual articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.
  • Look for Location, Call Number, and Status. AVAILABLE means it should be here.
  • Use the Request button button as needed.

2. Can't find it in ALICE? Try OhioLINK...



 
  • Access to tens of millions of items from around the state.
  • Quick, easy, and free borrowing; see table of borrowing information.
  • If you're using ALICE, click on the Request button in ALICE button to go there.
  • Use  Request button in OhioLINKto get items from OhioLINK. Delivery usually within 3-4 days.

3. Can't get it from OhioLINK? Try WorldCat...

  • Covers thousands of libraries from around the world.
  • Cannot borrow directly in WorldCat. Use information there to complete an Interlibrary Loan request.
Loading ...

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

ArticlesPlus does not include everything. We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.

Google Scholar

Logo for Google Scholar

 

 

Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search box to search for the contents of scholarly journals, books, theses, conference papers, etc. There are some characteristics you should know about, though, if you use Google Scholar:

  • It lacks most of the search limiting functions of other article databases. Even the "Articles" limiter in the left sidebar sometimes fails to limit the results to journal articles only.
  • Google does not make clear what sources it uses; in other words, there is no way to tell what journals it includes or excludes or what years are covered.
  • Most importantly, the links may lead you to websites which will ask that you pay for the articles, even though in many cases, we may own the particular journal already. Before paying for an article you find via Google Scholar, you should always do a Periodical Title Search for the journal in ALICE to see if we own the volume.
  • On-campus users should see this Find it icon in Google Scholar  link for articles that may be available for free to Ohio University faculty and students. After clicking on this link, you will be asked to login using your Ohio University login to access the full text of articles.
  • Off-campus users should set up their browsers as follows to get access to the full text of articles:
    • Click on the Settings icons for google scholaricon.
    • Configure the settings like this:Google scholar settings
    • If the settings are configured properly, off-campus users should also see the find it link in google scholarin their list of search results. After clicking on this link, you will be asked to login using your Ohio University login to access the full text of articles.

Interlibrary Loan and Document Express

Through our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery service, we will try to obtain items which we don't own from other libraries for you to use. Here's a step-by-step breakdown of the process of obtaining books.

  1. Search ALICE. If Ohio University owns the book, note the call number and location and go get it!
    • If the Location part of the record in ALICE says Library Annex or some other OU campus, click on the button that says Request Annex or Intercampus and complete the form. You will be notified by email when the book is ready for you to pick up.
  2. If we don't own the book, or if you are looking for more choices for your search results, click on the Search OhioLINKbutton.
    • If you find something at an OhioLINK member library that you want and that is AVAILABLE, do a request for it. You will be notified by email when the book is ready for you to pick up, usually within a few days.
  3. If neither the OU Libraries nor any OhioLINK member library can supply the book, login to our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery system (ILLiad) and request the book there.
    • You will be notified by email when the book is ready for you to pick up, which may take as long as several weeks.