Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships (MAPP) is a community-driven strategic planning process for improving community health. Facilitated by public health leaders, this framework helps communities apply strategic thinking to prioritize public health issues and identify resources to address them.
Helping public health use best evidence in practice since 2005
Searching many websites at once
We all use Google and for certain research processes such as research on policies, laws, and government-related programs, using Google can be the quickest and easiest tool.BUT THERE IS A TRICK!
When searching Google for a policy, regulation, or program (just to name a few) type this into the search bar:
site:.gov ("Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program" OR SNAP)
What this is doing is "telling" Google to ONLY search government websites (.gov) about "Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program" OR SNAP. It will search for nothing else and takes your literally MILLIONS of results down to a hundred thousand. You can do the same for .edu or .org sites.
The National Public Health Performance Standards (NPHPS or the Standards) provide a framework to assess capacity and performance of public health systems and public health governing bodies. This framework can help identify areas for system improvement, strengthen state and local partnerships, and ensure that a strong system is in place for addressing public health issues.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations from biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. --> Includes court cases
Indexes articles (from 1983 to the present) on all areas of the social sciences. Subjects covered include anthropology, area studies, communication, economics, ethnic studies, geography, human services, international relations, law, police sciences, political sciences, population studies, psychiatry, psychology, public adminstration, public health, social work, sociology, women's studies.
Indexes over 2000 journals in the field of psychology and related disciplines from 1864 to present. Also indexes thousands of books and dissertations and historical documents. Comprehensive and international in scope. Indexes materials in 27 languages from 49 countries, although the majority of the content is in English.
Indexes journal articles from many disciplines covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. 1990 to the present.
CQ Press Political Reference Suite of Online Editions integrates many of CQ Press's acclaimed reference titles on government and politics into a user-friendly, electronic format that offers a number of Web-enabled features that makes navigating this wealth of content intuitive and easy.
Collection consists of complete Code of Federal Regulations, English Reports, European Center for Minority Issues, Federal Register Library, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, International Law Association Reports, Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, New York Court of Appeals Records and Briefs, the Philip C. Jessup Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, a collection of political journals and session laws, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, and the World Trials Library.
Information on national and international criminal justice issues, including juvenile justice and crime prevention. NCJRS is a database of abstracts of more than 160,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Also includes some full-text of federal government documents.