Gatherings
Gatherings: An illustrated photographic magazine published by Ohio University Libraries that details the Libraries’ extraordinary changes throughout its 200-year history. Whether curating rare special collections or providing online access to the latest scientific research, the Libraries is essential for teaching, learning and research.
Image courtesy of Gatherings, Springs 2014.
Rare Books and Manuscripts
Robert E. and Jean R. Mahn Center for Archives and Special Collections.
The Mahn Center is the principal repository for rare books, manuscripts, and Ohio University archives material. The Mahn Center’s mission is to support the education, research, and creative endeavors of the Ohio University community. Contact staff in Archives & Special Collections to arrange a tour, discuss how to use archival collections, how to work with your class and for help in any archival research.
Particular Collections of Interest
- Alwin Nikolais and Murray Louis Dance collection documents the careers of two leaders in American Modern Dance. The collection includes films, videos, photographs, manuscripts, posters, administrative documents, awards, programs, reviews, and musical recordings.
- Cornelius Ryan Collection of World War II Papers: Correspondence, documents, photographs, diaries, accounts, manuscripts, audio tapes, interviews, journal articles, screenplays, scrapbooks, memorabilia, and books detailing Ryan’s career as a journalist and author of the books The Longest Day, The Last Battle, and A Bridge Too Far.
- Manuscripts Collections - Literature: Collections include various authors, poet, journalists
- Author Collections: Bukowski, Dickens, Frank Harris, Jesse Stuart, Dard Hunter, Kipling, Tennysonm, Wells and more.
- Gilbert and Ursual Farfel Collection of Incunable and Manuscript Leaves: The Gilbert and Ursula Farfel collection of incunable and manuscript leaves includes 500 pieces dating from the 8th Century through 1999. The bulk of the collection (over 300 leaves) dates from the 15th Century.
- Edmund Blunden Papers: The Edmund Blunden papers contain correspondence and writings of Blunden; playbills collected by Blunden and newspaper clippings. Many of the letters are to Dorothea Hayward Scott, another English author.
See also:
Miriam Intrator, Rare Books Librarian in Mahn Center has created the RESEARCHING WITH ARCHIVES AND SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
Digital Archives
Have a look at our Digital Archives
The Libraries actively invests in digitizing our unique collections in order to broaden access to these rich materials. Our digital offerings are regularly expanding in support of the research and educational activities of campus. Check back often or follow us on social media for the latest news!
