Sources
What type of information are you searching for?
Background Information
Standards, Codes and Regulations
Product (Materials and Components) Information
Material Specifications
The sources listed in each category are starting points, depending upon your project, you may not search all the sources in a particular category or you may need additional resources. If you cannot find needed information, ask me.
- ALICE Catalog
Search the OU Libraries collection for books, journals, movies, maps, and more. Access: Free - OhioLINK Catalog
Search and request books from academic libraries across the state of Ohio. Access: Free - Compendex (Engineering Village - EI)
Bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, aerospace, and automotive engineering as well as related fields in science and management. Access: Ohio U. all campuses (including off campus) - Knovel
Includes electronic books on biochemistry, biology, and biotechnology; chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials; electronics, semiconductors; mechanics and mechanical engineering; and sustainable energy and development. Data provided in tables is searchable and Knovel provides a variety of ways to interact with the content. Access: Ohio U. Athens campus only (including off campus) - ENGnetBASE
Provides access to the handbooks of CRC in civil, electrical, industrial, mechanical, and mining engineering. Access: Athens Campus Only (including off campus) - Scopus
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, social sciences and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research - Statista
Excellent source for business, economic, political, social, and historical statistics. Simply search for your topic to find loads of relevant and useful data. Access: Ohio U. Athens campus only (including off campus) 
No explanation needed. Access: Free
- IHS/Global StandardsInformation about and abstracts of standards from more than 370 different professional standard organizations. Access: Free to search
- TechstreetInformation about and abstracts of standards from many different professional standard organizations. Access: Free to search
- American National Standards Institute (ANSI) WebstoreSearch for standards from 115 standards developers by document number or keyword. Access: Free to search
- ASTM InternationalFormerly knows as the American Society of Testing and Materials, it is now an international standard organization. Access: Free to Search
Note: The 2016 print edition of The Annual Book of ASTM Standards is available in the reference collection on the 2nd floor of Alden Library. The call number is: TA 401 .A653 2016. - Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)Variety of regulations and requirements of the United States government. Access: Free
Product (Materials and Components) Information
- Company's website
- Product catalogs
- MSDSXchangeMaterial Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provide basic chemical properties, medical treatment for skin and eye contact and ingestion, spill clean up, and more for chemicals, cleaners, lubricants, etc. Access: Free
Existing Designs
See the links within Background Information and Patents
- Compendex
- Google Scholar
- United States Patent & Trade Office (USPTO)
- Google Patents
- United States Patent & Trade Office (USPTO)Search either issued patents or patent applications by keyword, inventor, patent number, etc. Must install a plugin to view the full text of patents. Access: Free
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) - PatentscopeEasily search Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text from 189 participating countries/states. Access: Free
- European Patent Office (EPO) EspacenetSearch over 100 million patent documents worldwide. Access; Free
- Google PatentsQuick, easy access to U.S. patents. Access: Free
- COS Pivot
Provided by the OU's Office of Research. Access: Ohio U. - Foundation Directory
Searchable information on foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities and their grants. Access: Ohio U. all campuses (including off campus)
Example
What sources could I use to find property data for nylon rope?
First choice: Knovel
Alternatives: ALICE Catalog and/or Google