University Libraries

Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Contains the collection of over 2,000 interviews conducted in seventeen states between 1936 and 1938 under the Federal Writers' Project of the Work Progress Administration, as published in 1972 in The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography edited by George P. Rawick.

Full text of some 1200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries

A digital collection of Government publications of African colonies under Great Britain.

The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between 1820 and 1970, includes an impressive volume of important archival materials generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. Several hundred sources focus on some aspect of slavery and the slave trade.

This Confidential Print series contains a wealth of archival materials covering Central and South America and the French and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics include slavery and the slave trade.

Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) and Chetham's Library, Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating many aspects of 18th century life, including British views and involvement in the Atlantic slave trade.

This unique digital resource, produced by Adam Matthew, features an extensive array of original manuscripts, documents, Images and scholarly interpretive essays on the age of empire, and the history of the British Empire in particular. The history of the British Empire and the Atlantic slave trade were inextricably intertwined throughout the 18th and 19th centuries. Slavery was abolished in Great Britain and her many colonies in 1838, yet the British continued to dominate the shipping trade well into the 1850s.

Selected documents from a number of different microfilm collections, including: early Gold Coast records from the archives of the USPG; the papers of Thomas Perronet Thompson, the first Governor of the Colony of Sierra Leone; An account of two missionary voyages by Rev. Thomas Thompson; the letters of Rev. Philip Quaque, etc.

comprised of more than 56,000 pages of primary texts, features annual reports from the British Foreign and Commonwealth Office on the Gold Coast and Togoland (Ghana and Togo) for the decisive period of 1843-1957.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices." It is an excellent resource for studying the institution of slavery in relation to various global commodities, including sugar, tobacco, alcohol, and various other commercial goods.

Archival collection features more than 5 million cross-searchable pages of primary and secondary sources on the rise and fall of the Atlantic slave trade.