Skip to main content

Ohio University Libraries

African American Studies

Main guide for resources and information on African American Studies (AAS)

Mainstream US Newspapers

The following individual newspapers are available in PDF page-image format:

US Newstream

Recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. 

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

African American Newspapers online covers 1827-1998.  This is a great place to begin historical research on any topic in African American Studies.

African American Newspapers-current

We have long runs of two major African American newspapers:

You can choose to search across ALL HISTORICAL dates for most publications.  Once in the newspaper (via Proquest search), click on Databases (31) link.  Scroll down, find the paper "ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎  (1909 - 1975)". 

 

Ohio Newspapers

The links below go to the website of the Ohio Historical Society in Columbus. Each entry provides a brief description of the history of the paper and the microfilm holdings at the Ohio Historical Society. Selected images and pages are available online.

The newspapers listed in this section and the one below are typically not "searchable." To locate a story you will first need to know the approximate date of the event, and then browse through the available issues until you find coverage of the story.

Other Collections