Electronic Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Reference materials include guides to the literature, bibliographies,encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks.
They provide important background information on a topic, factual information such as names, numbers, dates etc. In addition to the information provided in encyclopedia articles are the references usually provided at the end of articles. These are pointers to additional resources available on the topic. Print dictionaries and encyclopedias are located at the Learning Commons (Alden Library, 2nd Floor).
- Encyclopedia of global healthIt is a comprehensive A to Z survey of a broad array of health topics worldwide. It covers all aspects of health including physical and mental health, current health status in each country.
- Encyclopedia of world culturesDescribes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic HistoryEntries include articles on production systems, business history, technology, macroeconomic history and international economics, banking and finance, labor, and many other topics.
- Encyclopedia of consumption and waste: the social science of garbageExamines why we throw away the trash we do today, using data compiled from the exploration of dumpsters, to better understand our modern society and culture.
- Encyclopedia of global studiesProvides a reference work for the emerging field of global studies, covering both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes.
- Encyclopedia of sustainabilityComprises three volumes, each dedicated to one of three equally important contexts in which the term is used: environment and ecology, business and economics, and equity and fairness.
- Oxford research encyclopediasOREs offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
Print Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by ISBN: 0313327874Publication Date: 2003-09-30
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations by ISBN: 9780810855489Publication Date: 2007-03-16
