Produced by NISC South Africa, distributed by EBSCO, combines databases to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies." Contains over 2.4 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century.
Contains materials from the newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic minorities, across a range of disciplines. In depth coverage of a wide range of current and historic topics, in the fields of business, education, ethnic and cultural studies, literature and the arts, environmental studies, history, journalism, political science and government, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture.
Covers indexing for over 1700 journals plus books and other important reference sources in the humanities. "The database includes bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, social sciences and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search box to search for the contents of scholarly journals, books, theses, conference papers, etc. There are some characteristics you should know about, though, if you use Google Scholar:
It lacks most of the search limiting functions of other article databases. Even the "Articles" limiter in the left sidebar sometimes fails to limit the results to journal articles only.
Google does not make clear what sources it uses; in other words, there is no way to tell what journals it includes or excludes or what years are covered.
Most importantly, the links may lead you to websites which will ask that you pay for the articles, even though in many cases, we may own the particular journal already. Before paying for an article you find via Google Scholar, you should always do a Periodical Title Search for the journal in ALICE to see if we own the volume.
On-campus users should see this link for articles that may be available for free to Ohio University faculty and students. After clicking on this link, you will be asked to login using your Ohio University login to access the full text of articles.
Off-campus users should set up their browsers as follows to get access to the full text of articles:
Click on the icon.
Configure the settings like this:
If the settings are configured properly, off-campus users should also see the in their list of search results. After clicking on this link, you will be asked to login using your Ohio University login to access the full text of articles.