Citations with abstracts to scholarly literature about world history (exclusive of United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life). Covers historical periods from about 1450 A.D. to the present.
The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale has been established by the Centre d' Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale (Université de Poitiers) and aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). Initially the bibliography focuses on the Central Middle Ages, but gradually the coverage will be expanded in stages to cover both the Early and the Late Middle Ages. The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale currently comprises 40,000 titles from 1958 to 2003.
Online collection of images and texts on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain. Types of materials include: ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets, diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books, and periodicals.
Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) and Chetham's Library, Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV).
A large digitized collection of books, pamphlets, and periodicals about women. All primary source material, from 1543-1945, all full text in the database. Good for women’s history, especially feminism and suffrage. International in scope, it includes materials in several languages from Europe and America.
This is the largest database of medieval art in existence with full-text records for nearly 80,000 works of art dating from early apostolic times to A.D. 1550. This bibliography covering iconography, art history, archaeology, religious, and classical studies is a specialized reference tool which is not found elsewhere.
The IMB database comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Interdisciplinary coverage of the middle ages and the Renaissance. Consists of two databases -- journal articles and books. The journals database contains records from scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). The books database is a bibliography of monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. In addition to the digital documents, the database contains a wealth of secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to other useful websites.
An authoritative research guide providing annotated bibliographies by scholars in medieval studies. Books and articles are listed as well as digital content. Topics include Art History, History, English Language and Literature, French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature, Law, Religion, History of Medicine, and Music.