Library Guides: AAS 1500: African American Studies: Databases (secondary)

Full Text Scholarly Databases

EJC - Electronic Journal Center, Arts & Humanities
Searchable, full text source for thousands of scholarly journals in all fields. Allows for RSS feeds or email journal alerts.
JSTOR - Journal Storage
Searchable, full text source for scholarly journals in many fields. JSTOR does not include current content. Typically, the most recent three to five years of a journal are not available.
Project Muse
Searchable, full text source for over 400 scholarly journals in humanities, arts, and social sciences. Allows for RSS feeds or email journal alerts.

Basically, journals articles, magazines, trade papers and some newspaper would be considered secondary sources.

A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. These sources are one or more steps removed from the event. Secondary sources may have pictures, quotes or graphics of primary sources in them.

African American Studies (related) databases

America History and Life
Indexes scholarly literature about American and Canadian history, prehistory to the present day. Covers articles, book reviews, dissertations, and media reviews.
Ethnic News Watch
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Historical Abstracts
Citations with abstracts to scholarly literature about world history (exclusive of United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life).Covers historical periods from about 1450 A.D. to the present. Some articles are fulltext.
Gender Studies Database
Most comprehensive coverage of core titles, both in number and depth. Some full text.
Left Index
Literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
Sociological Collection
This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

More Databases - all disciplines

Alden Library has many resources to help 'contextualize' your research in the humanities. The list below is recommended databases, but we have many ways to discover alternative databases:

Go to our Database page (from the home page). Databases are listed by discipline.
Check out Subject & Course Guides by Discipline; guides contain useful information on any aspect of the discipline; created and produced by Ohio University subject librarians.

University Libraries

AAS 1500: African American Studies

Difference: Databases and Google

Full Text Scholarly Databases

African American Studies (related) databases

More Databases - all disciplines

OHIO UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES